Download Fire Risk Assessment Guides

The current risk-assessment based regime came into force with the passing of the Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005. Like the legislation it replaced, the Order places a duty on employers to take action to prevent fires and protect employees and relevant persons against death and injury,  should a fire occur. However, further than the old Fire Precautions (Workplace) Regulations 1999, that duty now extends beyond workplaces to include all non-domestic premises to which employees and/or relevant persons have access.

To support the Order the government has published a number of guidance documents to assist you in meeting your responsibilities. They give advice on most types of premises where the duty to undertake a fire safety risk assessment under the Order applies.

The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 – A short guide to making your premises safe from fire gives an overview and the guides below address the following categories of premises.

GuideMain Use
Offices and shopsOffices and retail premises (including individual units within larger premises, e.g. shops and restaurants within shopping centres and leisure centres).
Factories and warehousesFactories and warehouse storage premises.
Sleeping accommodationAll premises where the main use is to provide sleeping accommodation, e.g. hotels, guest houses, B&Bs, hostels, residential training centres, holiday accommodation and the common areas of flats, maisonettes, HMOs and sheltered housing (other than those providing care – see Residential care premises), but excluding hospitals, residential care premises, places of custody and single private dwellings
Residential care premisesResidential care and nursing homes, common areas of sheltered housing (where care is provided) and similar premises, which are permanently staffed and where the primary use is the provision of care rather than healthcare (see Healthcare Premises).
Educational PremisesTeaching establishments ranging from pre-school through to universities, except the residential parts (see Sleeping accommodation).
Small and medium places
of assembly
Smaller public houses, clubs, restaurants and cafes, village halls, community centres, libraries, marquees, churches and other places of worship or study accommodating up to 300 people.
Large places of assemblyLarger premises where more than 300 people could gather, e.g. shopping centres (not the individual shops), large nightclubs and pubs, exhibition and conference centre’s, sports stadia, marquees, museums, libraries, churches, cathedrals and other places of worship or study.
Theatres, cinemas and
similar premises
Theatres, cinemas, concert halls and similar premises used primarily for this purpose.
Open air events and venuesOpen air events, e.g. theme parks, zoos, music concerts, sporting events (not stadia – see Large places of assembly), fairgrounds and county fairs.
Healthcare premisesPremises where the primary use is the provision of healthcare (including private), e.g. hospitals, doctors’ surgeries, dentists and other similar healthcare premises.
Transport premises
and facilities
Transportation terminals and interchanges, e.g. airports, railway stations (including sub-surface), transport tunnels, ports, bus and coach stations and similar premises but excluding the means of transport (e.g. trains, buses, planes and ships).
Animal Premises and StablesThis guide is for use at all equine establishments, stables, livery yards and other animal establishments and for all employers, proprietors, managers, occupiers and owners.
Means of Escape for Disabled People (Supplementary Guide)This is a supplementary guide and should be read alongside other guides in the Fire Safety Risk Assessment series.
It provides additional information on accessibility and means of escape for disabled people.
Alarmwise Fire Risk Assessment

Each guide is in two parts; the first part explains how to undertake a fire safety risk assessment; the second part of each guide provides further guidance on the fire precautions. The guides are written so as to be readily understood by those who have to comply with the requirements of the Order, not just fire safety experts.

Categories:Fire Safety Guides

April 1, 2011[Last updated: July 21, 2019]

Greater London Area
Barking and Dagenham, Barnet, Bexley, Brent, Bromley, Camden, City of London, City of Westminster, Croydon, Ealing, Enfield, Greenwich, Hackney, Hammersmith and Fulham, Haringey, Harrow, Havering, Hillingdon, Hounslow, Islington, Kensington and Chelsea, Kingston, Lambeth, Lewisham, Merton, Newham, Redbridge, Richmond, Southwark, Sutton, Tower Hamlets, Waltham Forest and Wandsworth. 

Essex Area
Basildon, Billericay, Braintree, Brentwood, Chelmsford, Colchester, Epping, Grays, Hadleigh, Halstead, Harlow, Harwich, Ilford, Loughton, Maldon, Rayleigh, Rochford, Romford, Southend on Sea, Thaxted, Tilbury, Waltham Abbey, Walton on the Naze, Wickford and Witham.

Kent Area
Ashford, Broadstairs, Canterbury, Chatham, Crayford, Dartford, Deal, Dover, Edenbridge, Erith, Faversham, Folkestone, Gillingham, Gravesend, Herne Bay, Hythe, Lydd, Maidstone, Margate, Bromley, Beckenham, Orpington, Ramsgate, Rochester, Sandwich, Sevenoaks, Sheerness, Sittingbourne, Southborough, Strood, Swanley, Tenterden, Tonbridge, Tunbridge Wells, Westerham and Whitstable.

Surrey Area
Camberley, Dorking, Egham, Epsom, Esher, Farnham, Godalming, Guildford, Haslemere, Horley, Leatherhead, Redhill, Reigate, Staines, Walton on Thames and Weybridge.

Burgess Hill, Crawley, East Grinstead, Horsham, Berkshire, Bracknell, Maidenhead, Reading, Slough and Wokingham.

Copyright © 2020 Alarmwise (UK). All Rights Reserved|Privacy Policy |Terms & Conditions|Technical Support